TeamCapri

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Summer will be upon us soon! Make sure you check the Meets subforum to see if there's a get-together near you!

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: All-motor?  (Read 5243 times)

Heavensheros

• Old-Timer
    • http://http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2685897/1
All-motor?
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2011, 05:50:00 PM »

so the engine is you russ?
1992 Capri XR2
RocketMan VAF adaptor
Accel wires
Irundium IX
2.5\\" Thrush exauhst
Rocket Chip
Rims
H&R Lowering Springs
Tuner FX Racing seats
Gauges w/ A-pillar gauge pods
Accel superstock coil
FMIC

Chicken

All-motor?
« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2011, 10:00:00 AM »

Thats a visual man.

I'm not a pro engine builder.  In an effort to defend a good design (not perfect, not anemic) the increase from 31-33mm doesn't equate a 60% increase in size, curtain, or flow.  Mazda is very smart and I'm sure they know too large a valve will rob your torque.

In engines, there is waaaay more to getting more than adding more.

Too much duration, lift, valve, relief, etc etc etc (again) won't help anymore than too much piston, fuel, air.

There are flow charts for anyone who cares to find them (and please share the links).  There is also a long time line in experiences in the aquisition of ability to apply aside from the tools and the numbers alone.

I am not astute enough to serve justice towards this matter in detail.  I like the Capri, and believe the motor may be the best engineered feature of the car.  There are far more technical forums than this which clarify that opinion very well.

If you heard it from an automotive forum, get a second, and third opinion.

Rocketman

• Administrator
  • Old-Timer
    • 91 BPT AWD Capri & 1991 XR2
    • http://www.werbatfik.com
All-motor?
« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2011, 04:58:00 PM »

You mentioned Russ's cars were putting down good numbers - I built Russ's Cars  ;)

Here's some stock for stock numbers: