TeamCapri

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

If you've registered make sure emails from TeamCapri are not landing in your spam folder!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: 1991 Mercury Capri questions  (Read 17212 times)

kev1968

1991 Mercury Capri questions
« on: August 02, 2011, 05:30:00 AM »

Hello all Im new here I am from Indiana
I just got a 1991 capri about 2 weeks ago
it was a one owner and has been garaged its
whole life..   the car has a blown head gasket
my questions are..
1. do i need to replace the head bolts?
2. I haven't been able to find any new ones  :(
3. I am in need of a 1991 haynes repair manual
and can not seem to find one...
4. I will post pics of this car..
5. I need to know the ins and outs of this car
as I am a capri noob.. lol  
6. I just received my new parts this morning I am replacing the head gasket, the water pump, the thermostat, the fuel pump and of course the valve cover gasket...  and new belts as well...
I can not find the mark on the crank in which I have read that needs to be TDC or 12 o'clock  is the mark on the pulley or behind it?
if any one has some pics from their manual they would like to post I would sure appreciate it.
Thanks for any info and letting me join this club I can't wait to drive this car......  

tonlaw71

• Administrator
    • 1992 XR2 and a 2013 Nissan Juke
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 06:57:00 AM »

Welcome to Capridom!! You're going to LOVE driving that car, that I can promise you!!

I can answer a few of your questions, but not all of them, so here goes...

1. Not sure
2. One of your best sources for parts is Russ Carlson (CapriTypeR on this forum. caprityper@gmail.com) Also MidCounty Mustang (http://www.midcomustang.com)
3. There is no Haynes or Chilton's manual for our car. You REALLY need to invest in a Ford Service Manual. They come up on ebay every so often, or you can see if another member has one available.
4. Can't wait to see them!!